I’m about to say something…………………………….

My friend and fellow blogger, Cindy had this to say on Facebook a while ago.

Read it. Smart gal, our Cindy.

I’m about to say something I’m sure folks on both sides of the political arena would like to say. I’m tired of it.

What I’m tired of even more is reading my friends referring to me in general terms as a hateful bigot, an idiot, a monster, someone who enjoys scrotums dipped in their mouth or many other vile names.

Like most folks, I’m not 100% anything- Republican, Democrat or TeaParty. I am largely conservative, but I do happen to hold a few liberal ideas. I’m Christian, but I’m open to most scientific facts (evolution, The Big Bang Theory, dinosaurs- I believe in those things, but I believe God was behind them).

I have my opinions, but most the time, I’m open to the opinions of others and occasionally, I change my opinions on things based on experience or realization of another viewpoint.

One sure-fire way to NOT get me to see another point is by calling me names, berating MY beliefs, or insulting my intelligence. Liberal “friends” guilty of such, take note from the stupid, hateful, bigoted Southern girl- you catch more flies with honey than with vinegar. The same can be said about you conservative folks.

Every last one of you preaching tolerance (if the use of the word preaching offended you, please take note of the word TOLERANCE), try using a little of that tolerance toward me. I could have helped with some of your causes, because I find a great deal of merit in some of them. However, you’ve made me so bitter against those causes…just by your own HATEFUL spewings.

Generally, there are three ways things really are- your way, my way and the truly right way. The end goal is to try to meet somewhere in the middle. That cannot be achieved when you spew vitriol at me.

I ate at Chick-Fil-A yesterday. I’m sure you’ll think it’s because I AM AGAINST fair treatment of homosexuals and that will be applauded by one “side” and booed by the other. Others will think it was to support a (le gasp!) Christian based business.

Anyone who thinks either of those things might be surprised to learn they are both dead wrong. I ate at Chick-Fil-A to show that it is my belief that once I spend my dollar and receive the product I CHOSE to pay for, my expectations for where that dollar is spent have ended. If Chick-Fil-A owners chose to put that money in a collection plate at the Baptist Church or to buy more candles for a Pagan ceremony- it ain’t none of my damned business. If they’d like to pay for tattoos or for tattoo removal- it isn’t my business. If they want to support Gay Rights Groups or they prefer to support anti-Gay Rights groups, it’s STILL NOT ANY OF MY BUSINESS.

There are 525 people on my friends list here. Out of those 525, TWO people know the one business I won’t spend my money at due to not supporting what they believe. It’s not my job to convince anyone else that supporting that business is wrong. I will never march against this business, spout off about this business or even ask this business to change…once again, they get to decide how their money is spent.

I’m sick of it. Nobody is SPECIAL. Not heterosexuals, homosexuals, blacks, whites, Christians, non-Christians, Republicans, Democrats, Independents, men nor women. NOBODY has the market cornered on being right. You are no more right in your way of thinking than I am in my way of thinking.

5 thoughts on “I’m about to say something…………………………….

    • If you could, I would appreciate the removal of her middle and last names as well as the name of the blog. This is at her request to me to do the same.

  1. Wish we had Chik-fil-A up here in the rain forest. I’d like to try their food. I hear it’s good.

    I support people spending their money to show their opposition to a government entity that will try to pick business winners and losers based on the owner’s religious beliefs. It’s what freedom is all about. Forbid that we ever meekly accept government edicts about who can open a legitimate business in their jurisdiction. That way lies fascism.

  2. In reference to Glenn’s post above- The only reason I asked he remove my name is due to some OTHER things I post about. The chances of local folk stumbling across my blog are slim to none. I post about things that I encounter at work & just don’t want to be accused of violating the all-encompassing HIPAA crapola. :-) It had nothing to do with this post in particular. :)

You may fire when ready, Gridley

