And my jaw nearly hit the floor by snigsspot

My sister, KC at Pixie Place II had this up about Dad. He would have been 80 today.
He is still missed. Terribly at times.
He passed on Armistice Day/Remembrance Day/Veteran’s Day of 1991. Appropriate day for an old warrior from a time almost forgotten now.Korea, Quemoy and Matsu, Vietnam before we were “in Vietnam.”

Pixie Place II

My dad was a genius. He could fix nearly anything. He was funny, and told me my first dirty joke – I think I was 9. He played piano by ear and had a magnificently eclectic collection of records. He was also a loud-mouthed know-it-all son-of-a-bitch, who rebelled at Authority, and as a result quit more jobs than I’ve had in my life. He taught me to drive by hiring my friend to teach me to drive. He taught me how to take a punch – and to throw one.

He was 59 when he died.

Happy Birthday, Michael Henry Cassel. Hug Frosty and Tok for me. I miss you.

View original post

3 thoughts on “And my jaw nearly hit the floor by snigsspot

  1. Reblogged this on The Lexicans and commented:

    My sister has this up today about Dad. He passed on Armistice Day/Remembrance Day/Veteran’s Day of 1991.
    Warrior, Hero, Historian, Cowboy, Telephone Lineman, School Teacher, Hunter, Mentor.
    Korea, Quemoy, Vietnam before we were “in Vietnam”
    Still missed. At times………..terribly so.
    I use the three names of 11 November as a result of living in The Province of Alberta, Canada as a youngster as well as hearing the earlier terms used by old men in suits and medals as an even younger child. To me, all three are interchangeable.

      1. It was good. I also put it up at ORPO as well and also at The Lexicans.
        Arthur Barie at Bring the Heat, Bring the Stupid started that one after Carroll “Lex” Lefon was killed in plane crash at Fallon.

You may fire when ready, Gridley

