Thoughts on current events……Give me a break will you folks out there!

Since the incident in Charlottesville, Virginia, there has been a hue and cry to remove or even destroy historic markers, monuments and the like that pertain to the former Confederate States of America related to perceived wrongs in regards to slavery. Seems to me that history is just that history and when it is destroyed we lose touch with those things that do in a way, define us as a Republic.

History is neither good or bad. It simply exists. Simple viewpoint on the subject isn’t it. But think about it now, when I learned history in school including three years of high school in a small town in the Canadian Province of Alberta, history was treated in an objective manner. Now days, there seems to be an agenda regarding the bad stuff as perceived by some offended group.

As most of you readers and followers know, I am Jewish. I don’t run from the past regarding this. The Holocaust happened. It is real in my family in that 57 members on my Dad’s side perished during that horrible part of the history of the world. It happened. Nothing can change that.  The things that led up to it and the start of WW II in Europe in a way were a direct result of things we now see in the news these days.

I even hear cries for……”we need a law to prevent that!” Remember, Hitler and Mussolini had the law on their side at the time. Think long and hard on that. Which now brings this thought, those same laws can be held against any and all of us………..

A simple man’s perspective.

Even in the State Capital of my Home State of Montana, a memorial fountain to Confederate Soldiers in Hill Park was removed by the direction of the city commission. I lived in Helena from 63 to 66 and visited that park on a regular basis. A piece of my childhood removed due to a knee jerk reaction by those looking to enamor themselves to whatever segment of the population.

I guess I’m done.

One thought on “Thoughts on current events……Give me a break will you folks out there!

You may fire when ready, Gridley

